August 16

EPRO8 Technology Challenge Otago Finals

After finishing 3rd in the regional semi-final Ella, Lena, Jonty and Will (aka Papakaio 1) qualified for the Dunedin Finals, along with 11 other teams from Dunedin and the surrounding area. They were held at Kaikorai Valley College. With the travel time and the length of the event, it proved to be a very long night. However, the kids made the step up incredibly well. After leading at the halfway mark they finished a very creditable 4th place, just 20 points off 3rd. The team faced a range of exciting and interesting challenges including; creating wind turbines, automated cranes, pinball machines and fishing robots. What an amazing experience it was. We can’t wait to go again next year. Well done kids. Your teacher is VERY proud of you!


Posted August 16, 2017 by brownstuff in category Uncategorized

22 thoughts on “EPRO8 Technology Challenge Otago Finals

  1. Kris

    Hi, I’m Kris from O.I.S and was part of O.I.S epro8 team too. good work the challenges weren’t as hard as they look but we still over complicate it. nice work on getting 4th.

    Reply
    1. brownstuff (Post author)

      Hi Kris. Yep, we definitely over complicated it a bit. Usually, the simplest solution is the best. If we’d have known about pulleys then we could have won the whole thing. But it was great fun anyway.

      Reply
  2. arrowk17

    Kia Ora I’m Arrow from O.I.S and I was just wondering what is Epro8. It sounds like great fun. If it was called Papakaio 1 does that mean that you had multiple teams? If so how did they go? I hope that everyone enjoyed it. Was it a school project?

    Reply
    1. brownstuff (Post author)

      Hi Arrow, it was a competition. I think some of the kids in your class may have been there. Kris was there. Is he in your class?

      Reply
  3. alexdegeest17

    Hi, i’m Alex from congratulations on getting 4th! It must of been challenging! what kind of stuff did you have to do?

    Reply
    1. brownstuff (Post author)

      Alex there were heaps of challenges to choose from. We mostly worked on the fishing challenges and the wind challenges though.

      Reply
  4. patrickb17

    Hi, i’m patrick from O.I.S congratulations on getting 4th in the EPRO8 team everyone must of put up a good fight.

    Reply
  5. manu

    kia ora my name is Manu and I am in Kawakawa primary school. I am in room 3 and I love my class. My class is so smart I wish I can be like them but I cant because I am me.

    Reply
    1. brownstuff (Post author)

      Hey Manu. Let me tell you this. I don’t know you but anyone who can communicate as well as you did in that comment is definitely intelligent. It sounds like you are being a bit tough on yourself. Keep your head up and remember He kakano ahau i ruia mai i Rangiatea.

      Reply
  6. tamarah

    Kia Ora Room 6.
    Ko Tamarah tenei mai te Kura Kawakawa primary school class Nga Rau Puawai. I enjoyed reading the information about what you made for this particular occasion. It looks like it took a really long time to make the things you did. What was the hard part to complete this task and the easy part?

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*